Vehicle Inspection Number Checks
Vehicle Inspection Number (VIN) Checks
Indiana State law requires that a person must obtain a certificate of title for all vehicles owned by that person within 60 days of becoming an Indiana resident. Further, Indiana residents must title newly acquired vehicles no later than 31 days from the date of purchase. Police officer inspections, commonly referred to as VIN (vehicle identification number) checks, are required if the vehicle was not previously titled in Indiana. Any vehicle coming into Indiana from another state, including those assigned to an Indiana resident on a manufacturers certificate of origin, must be inspected.
VIN checks are conducted at the Hobart Police Department at the below dates and times. The fee for a VIN inspections is $5.00, payable at the records division of the Hobart Police Department. Payment type we accept is exact cash or check. VIN inspections will only be completed for residents of the city of Hobart with a state issued ID showing an address in the corporate city limits or when requested by a business in the corporate city limits.
- Tuesday & Wednesday 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
- Friday & Saturday 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Citizens in need of a VIN inspection should obtain the police officer inspection form from the Bureau of Motor Vehicles or click here Physical Inspection of a Vehicle or Watercraft (PDF) Form. They should take the form and their car to the Hobart Police Department for the check. If the vehicle is not in running condition or unable to be moved, an officer can be dispatched to the location of the vehicle once the fee has been paid at the police department. Payment type of cash or check only.
Further details relating to vehicle titles and VIN inspections may be found at the Indiana State government website.